For You If You Love Bridgerton

Along with 86 million viewers (and counting), I was absolutely enthralled by the series “Bridgerton” on Netflix. I looked forward to it from the time it was announced, as I had read the books around the time I was in University. So I gladly abandoned my family to binge watch the entire show on Christmas Day (Yes, it’s a day for family but I already see them everyday okay, Bridgerton > family time). 

Now before I wax poetic about this particular TV series, let me first make it clear that I am a huge lover of romance novels. I found a bunch of Mills and Boons books when I was 15 and never looked back. 13 years later, I still enjoy curling up with my book (or kindle) and getting lost in the world of Regency romance. Maybe one day I will write about the irritating way romance novels are spoken and written about but today is for enjoying and celebrating them! 

Yes, where was I? That’s right, Bridgerton. What an absolutely stunning series. Shonda Rhimes and Shondaland, simply do not miss. The production value was on a million. The set design, the costumes, hair and makeup, the music, and the swoon-worthy, talented, BEAUTIFUL actors and actresses. It really was everything I expected it to be and then some. I for one, am not at all surprised that the show has become Netflix’s biggest original series. I am so excited to see what Shondaland does with book 2 of the series, Anthony’s story. 

But yes, without further ado, I have compiled a list of books to read, and shows to watch for my fellow lovers of Bridgerton!

To Read 

The Entire Bridgerton Series.

If you watched the series and loved it, you will adore the books. Each of the siblings; Anthony, Benedict, Colin, Daphne, Eloise, Francesca, Gregory, and Hyacinth each have their own unique and beautiful love story. So, you’re in for a treat.

Again The Magic by Lisa Kleypas

So Lisa Kleypas is one of my favourite writers. Not one of my favourite romance authors, but just a favourite in general. I have read every single one of her books, but one of my great loves, is “Again The Magic”. It’s the story of Mckenna, a servant and Lady Aline, a member of the aristocracy who fall in love in their childhood but can’t be together because of class difference (McKenna works as a footman on Aline’s family estate). When McKenna finds his fortune in New York he comes back to England for business and crosses paths with Aline. You need to read it. Just soooo swoonworthy.

Every Breath You Take by Judith McNaught

If you are a lover of romance novels, then you. know Judith McNaught is one of the Queens of romance. “Every Breath You Take” is one a contemporary romance novel but it absolutely beautiful.

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Before regency romance became a genre, there was Jane Austen, writing beautiful romance novels in the actual regency period. I studied Pride and Prejudice during my A-Levels and I was totally enthralled by it. Discovering Jane Austen was a highlight of my reading experience, and I will always recommend that book lovers, particularly romance fiction lovers, read at least one of her beautiful books.

To Watch

Bridgerton… again (Netflix)

Bridgerton really is not a “one watch show”. You have to rewatch to catch some of those lovely little things you missed the first time. I mean, Simon’s passionate speech to the queen about Daphne is so wonderful you can’t just watch it once!

Sanditon (Showmax)

This show is based on Jane Austen’s unfinished manuscript, Sanditon, written a few months before her death. It follows Charlotte, a lovely, vivacious young woman who moves to the seaside town of Sanditon where she meets the brooding, complicated Sidney. I am not going to say more than that but it’s a great, great watch. I really am hoping that someone (side-eye Netflix, Hulu) picks it up for a second season. I just NEED some resolutions okay. NEED

Normal People (Hulu)

If you follow me on any social media, then you know I absolutely loveddddd this show. First of all, shout out to Sally Rooney who wrote the book (and did a lot of work on the show). The story follows Marianne and Connell, two people from different backgrounds who fall in lust, and then love, and how they navigate their relationship from secondary school through to University. It explores class, status and money within relationships brilliantly.

Okay! That’s it

If you’ve read or watched any of these, or have any recommendations, please let me know in the comment section.

Happy watching and reading!

11 Comments

  • Gbemi Shittu

    I loved the Bridgerton book series, finished it in a week and to my surprise the first book was not my favorite. I am excited to read your other recommendation.

  • Maimunat Usman

    Love love love this article even though I’m sad love in color didn’t make this list . Still reading it and I absolutely love it

  • Jane Frances

    I am currently reading the bridgerton, I am on Benedict’s story now and it’s actually one of my favorites. Loved that it’s a bit different from the rest.

  • Abisola

    I liked the book series but didn’t really enjoy it . I will start read the other book recommendations you gave

  • Toni A

    Sanditon was such a good recommendation, thank you. I’m not sure what I expected but it was a nice, easy and enjoyable watch. Also hoping they have a second season, we deserve more of that yumminess. Going to try normal people next 🥳

  • Feyi

    I really enjoyed reading 'Again the magic's Saw your recommendations on Twitter & I had to tweet my gratitude. It reminded me of how much I used to love(and still do!) regency romance.

  • Halima

    I have read almost all the books on the Bridgerton series along with again the magic and i absolutely love them. These post brought back some lovely memories so thank you

  • Omolabake

    I binge watched Normal People because of you Jola!!! And it was soooo goooooood. Before you recommended it, I read a few reviews online that concluded it was boring so I wrote it off. But then I read your blog and bam I find that you recommend it! I was like Jola has good taste o so lemme give it a try, and now, I can honestly say I CANNOT relate to those people who say its boring.

  • Tee

    I love love regency romance and I especially love Laura Bell's books. I found her (littlelo62) on wattpad 🤐 (don't mind me, I read everywhere) and absolutely love her writing. Read the Brigdgerton series though I'm yet to watch it and I loved all their stories. Will definitely try out your recommendations.

  • FJ

    You should try the Maiden Lane Series by Elizabeth Hoyt. They are historical romance novels and are such lovely books to read

  • Roudiyah

    Wow jola, your recommendations are sooooo good I've written off normal people too cos it looks boring and now I'm excited to watch or and a lot more thank you, we all love Bridgeton and I can't wait for next month's book

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *